MENUE to top

william youn
piano

Biography as PDF: DE EN

The award-winning pianist William Youn has been described by critics as a “genuine poet” with “sovereign, bravura technique of touch”. After early studies in Korea and in the USA, William again changed continents to study at the Hanover University of Music and at the Piano Academy Lake Como, where he worked regularly with Karl-Heinz Kämmerling, Dmitri Bashkirov, Andreas Staier, William Grant Naboré and Menahem Pressler.

Based now in his adopted hometown of Munich, Germany, William performs internationally from Berlin via Seoul to New York with major orchestras, including the Cleveland Orchestra, the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra, the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, the Munich Chamber Orchestra, the National Orchestra of Belgium, the Mariinsky Theater and the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra.

As chamber musician, William enjoys close collaborations with Nils Mönkemeyer, Sabine Meyer, Julian Steckel, Carolin Widmann, Veronika Eberle, Johannes Moser and the Signum Quartet. He also performs increasingly on fortepiano, including at the Mecklenburg Vorpommern Festival and the Mozart Festival in Würzburg.

William has recorded for Sony Korea and Ars Produktion. Other recordings include a first disc of works by Brahms with Mönkemeyer, and ‘Mozart with Friends’ with Sabine Meyer, Julia Fischer and Mönkemeyer. His most recent recording Mozart’s complete piano sonatas for Oehms Classics has recieved extensive critical acclaim. His first solo album for Sony Classical will be released internationally in October 2018.

Season 2018/19
Please use only the latest biography. Changes may only be made after consultation with f r e i t a g a r t i s t s.

MENÜ nach oben

william youn
klavier

Biografie als PDF: DE EN

Als einen „echten Poeten“ mit „bravouröser Anschlagstechnik“ lobt die Presse den preisgekrönten Pianisten William Youn. Seine Ausbildung begann der Kosmopolit Youn in Korea. In frühester Jugend zog er nach Amerika, wechselte später erneut den Kontinent und ging an die Musikhochschule Hannover sowie als Stipendiat an die Piano Academy Lake Como, wo er mit Künstlerpersönlichkeiten wie Karl-Heinz Kämmerling, Dmitri Bashkirov, Andreas Staier, William Grant Naboré oder Menahem Pressler regelmäßig arbeitete.

Seit vielen Jahren lebt der Pianist nun in seiner Wahlheimat München. Er konzertiert international von Berlin über Seoul bis New York mit Orchestern wie dem Cleveland Orchestra, den Münchner Philharmonikern, dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, dem Münchner Kammerorchester, dem Belgischen Nationalorchester, dem Mariinsky Theatre oder dem Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra.

Eine enge Zusammenarbeit verbindet Youn besonders mit Nils Mönkemeyer, aber auch mit Sabine Meyer, Julian Steckel, Veronika Eberle, Johannes Moser und dem Signum Quartett. Vermehrt tritt Youn auch am Hammerflügel auf , wie bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern oder dem Mozartfest Würzburg.

International liegen zahlreiche CD-Veröffentlichungen von William Youn vor. Gemeinsam mit Nils Mönkemeyer erschien bei Sony Classical eine CD mit Werken von Brahms sowie die Einspielung „Mozart with friends“ mit Sabine Meyer, Julia Fischer und Nils Mönkemeyer. Sein Mozart-Zyklus mit sämtlichen Klaviersonaten auf fünf Alben, veröffentlicht bei Oehms Classics, wurde mit Preisen ausgezeichnet und in der Presse hochgelobt. Im Herbst 2018 wird sein erstes Solo Album bei Sony Classical erscheinen.

 

Saison 2018/19

Bitte verwenden Sie nur die aktuellste Biographie, Änderungen sind nur nach Absprache mit  f r e i t a g a r t i s t s möglich.