MENUE to top

miroslav srnka
composer general management

Biography as PDF: DE EN

Miroslav Srnka’s international breakthrough came in 2016 when his opera South Pole was premiered at the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich under Kirill Petrenko, in a production by Hans Neuenfels that featured Rolando Villazón and Thomas Hampson in the title roles.

But even before that, Srnka had received several major commissions and awards, including the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation Composer’s Prize in 2009. His works have been performed by renowned interpreters including the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Czech Philharmonic, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Ensemble Modern, Klangforum Wien and the Munich Chamber Orchestra, by conductors such as Peter Eötvös, Jakub Hrůša, Susanna Mälkki and Cornelius Meister at festivals like Ultraschall Berlin, Wien Modern, Présences Paris, Prague Spring, Musica Strasbourg, Milano Musica, Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo, Ostrava New Music Days and Contempuls.

In the 2020/21 season the Bayerische Staatsoper, together with the Klangforum Wien under Patrick Hahn, will issue his new chamber opera Singularity – A Space Opera for Young Voices. Further, Miroslav Srnka will be „composer in focus“ at the Theater Aachen, which will premier the chamber version of his opera Jakub Flügelbunt as well as others of his works. Last but not least, his compositions will be presented for the first time at Festival d’Automne in Paris, Warsaw Autumn and the Acht Brücken Festival in Cologne.

His short opera Wall, based on a work by Jonathan Safran Foer, was premiered at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin in 2005, and in 2006/2007 he was the “Composer for Heidelberg” at Theater Heidelberg. In 2011, his chamber opera Make No Noise premiered at the Bayerische Staatsoper and Jakub Flügelbunt, a “comic book for three singers and orchestra”, received its first performance at the Semperoper in Dresden. In 2017, the Dialogues Festival in Salzburg presented a comprehensive portrait of the composer with numerous events and premieres. For its 100th season in 2018/2019, the Los Angeles Philharmonic commissioned Srnka to write the piece Overheating. In 2015, the concert series musica viva in Munich presented move 01 & 02. During the same series in 2019, Speed of Truth was given its first performance with Jörg Widmann, clarinet, and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and Bavarian Radio Chorus conducted by Susanna Mälkki. The commissioned work Milky Way, written for the ECHO (European Concert Hall Organisation) Rising Stars Tour and the trumpeter Simon Höfele, had been premiered at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, with further performances in the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, the Cologne Philharmonie, the Philharmonie Luxembourg, the MüPa Budapest, The Sage Gateshead, St Lukes in London, the Gulbenkian in Lisbon, Baden-Baden and Birmingham.
Srnka has collaborated for many years with the ensemble Quatuor Diotima, which has performed his quartets across Europe and issued a portrait CD with chamber music on the Naïve label.
Srnka, born in Prague in 1975, studied musicology at the Charles University and composition at the Prague Academy of Performing Arts. In 2019, he was appointed professor for composition at the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz in Cologne.

Season 2020/21
Please use only the latest biography. Changes may only be made after consultation with f r e i t a g a r t i s t s.

MENÜ nach oben

miroslav srnka
komponist generalmanagement

Biografie als PDF: DE EN

Seine Oper South Pole, uraufgeführt 2016 an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München unter Kirill Petrenko, inszeniert von Hans Neuenfels und mit Rolando Villazón und Thomas Hampson in den Titelrollen, brachte Miroslav Srnka den internationalen Durchbruch. Bereits zuvor wurde er mit bedeutenden Kompositionsaufträgen und Preisen, u.a. dem Förderpreis der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung 2009, ausgezeichnet. Seine Werke werden von renommierten Interpreten wie dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Los Angeles Philharmonic, BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, RSO Wien, der Tschechischen Philharmonie, dem Ensemble Intercontemporain, Ensemble Modern, Klangforum Wien, dem Münchener Kammerorchester und von Dirigenten wie z.B. Peter Eötvös, Jakub Hrůša, Susanna Mälkki und Cornelius Meister bei Ultraschall Berlin, Wien Modern, Présences Paris, Prager Frühling, Musica Strasbourg, Milano Musica, Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo, Ostrava New Music Days, Contempuls u.a. aufgeführt.

In der Saison 2020/21 bringt die Bayerische Staatsoper, zusammen mit dem Klangforum Wien unter der Leitung von Patrick Hahn, seine neue Kammeroper Singularity – A Space Opera for Young Voices heraus. Zudem ist Miroslav Srnka „composer in focus“ am Theater Aachen, das die Premiere der Kammerfassung seiner Oper Jakub Flügelbunt sowie zahlreiche weitere Werke von ihm programmieren wird. Des weiteren werden seine Kompositionen zum ersten Mal beim Festival d’Automne in Paris, beim Warschauer Herbst sowie beim Acht Brücken Festival in Köln zu hören sein.

Seine Kurzoper Wall nach Jonathan Safran Foer wurde 2005 an der Staatsoper Berlin uraufgeführt, 2006/07 war er „Komponist für Heidelberg“ am Theater Heidelberg, 2011 wurden seine Kammeroper Make No Noise an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München sowie Jakub Flügelbunt, ein Comic Book für drei Sänger und Orchester an der Semperoper Dresden aufgeführt. 2017 präsentierten die Dialoge Salzburg ein umfangreiches Komponistenporträt mit zahlreichen Veranstaltungen und Erstaufführungen. Für seine 100. Saison beauftragte das Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra 2018/2019 bei Srnka das Stück Overheating. Im Rahmen von musica viva in München erklang 2015 move 01 & 02 sowie 2019 das erste Mal Speed of Truth mit Jörg Widmann, Klarinette, und dem Symphonieorchester und Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks unter Susanna Mälkki. Sein Auftragswerk Milky Way für die ECHO (European Concert Hall Organisation) wurde in der Saison 2019/20 von Trompeter Simon Höfele im Concertgebouw Amsterdam uraufgeführt und war anschließend in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, der Philharmonie Köln, der Philharmonie Luxemburg, dem MüPa Budapest, The Sage Gateshead, St. Lukes London, Gulbenkian Lissabon, Baden-Baden und Birmingham zu hören. Eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit verbindet ihn mit dem Quatuor Diotima, das seine Quartette europaweit aufführt und auf einer Portrait-CD mit Kammermusik beim label Naïve veröffentlicht hat.
Srnka, 1975 in Prag geboren, studierte Musikwissenschaft an der Karls-Universität sowie Komposition an der Prager Akademie der Darstellenden Künste. 2019 wurde er zum Professor für Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz in Köln berufen.

Saison 2020/21
Bitte verwenden Sie nur die aktuellste Biographie, Änderungen sind nur nach Absprache mit  f r e i t a g a r t i s t s möglich.