MENUE to top

simon höfele
trumpet general management

Biography as PDF: DE EN

The 27-year-old Simon Höfele is the winner of the most important German classical music prize, OPUS KLASSIK 2020, and within a short space of time has established himself internationally as one of the most successful trumpet players of the young generation. As a soloist, he has already played with many leading orchestras, including the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra, BBC Philharmonic, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra, Bern Symphony Orchestra, Musikkollegium Winterthur, Tonkünstler Orchestra, Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, SWR Symphonieorchester, MDR Sinfonieorchester (MDR Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra), NDR Radiophilharmonie, Deutsche Radio Philharmonie, Stuttgarter Philharmoniker, Staatskapelle Halle, Beethoven Orchester Bonn, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Munich Chamber Orchestra, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne. In the 2020/21 season, he was artist-in-residence with the Duisburger Philharmoniker.

He has already given guest recitals in the Wigmore Hall in London, the Tonhalle in Zurich, the Konzerthaus in Vienna, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, at the Gulbenkian Foundation in Lisbon, in L’Auditori in Barcelona, the Müpa Budapest, the Philharmonie Luxembourg, the Bozar in Brussels, in the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, in the Konzerthaus Berlin, in the Prinzregententheater and Herkulessaal in Munich, in the Konzerthaus Dortmund, at the Cheltenham Music Festival, the Festival de Radio France et Montpellier Languedoc-Roussillon, the MITO Festival, the Rheingau Musik Festival, the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, the MDR Musiksommer and the Grafenegg Festival.

Simon Höfele has worked or still works with conductors such as Ryan Bancroft, Joseph Bastian, Semyon Bychkov, Alpesh Chauhan, Jonathan Cohen, Dennis Russell Davies, Jan Willem de Vriend, Ben Gernon, Pietari Inkinen, Julia Jones, Vladimir Jurowski, Roland Kluttig, Joana Mallwitz, Andrew Manze, Matthias Pintscher, Clemens Schuldt, Steven Sloane, Markus Stenz, Valentin Uryupin, Mario Venzago, Lorenzo Viotti, Duncan Ward, Kahchun Wong and many others.

In the 2021/2022 season, Simon Höfele is artist-in-residence with the Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester, where he can be heard and seen in a wide range of orchestral and chamber-music programmes. He will appear in solo recitals and orchestral concerts at venues including the Berlin Philharmonie, the Kölner Philharmonie, the Isarphilharmonie in Munich, the Philharmonie Luxembourg and the Müpa in Budapest and with ensembles such as the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic, the Bochum Symphony Orchestra, the Badische Staatskapelle, the Staatsorchester Rheinische Philharmonie, the Heidelberg Philharmonic Orchestra, the Munich Chamber Orchestra, the Tonkünstler Orchestra, the Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra and the Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra. He will also appear at the Musikfest Berlin, the Grafenegg Festival, the Heidelberger Frühling festival and the Lower Saxony Music Festival.

As well as performing familiar trumpet repertoire ranging from Telemann, Tartini, Hummel and Mozart to Jolivet, Arutjunjan and Zimmermann, Simon Höfele is very enthusiastic about contemporary music. He has given the premières of several works written for him: “Milky Way” by Miroslav Smka (09/2019, Concertgebouw), “Three pieces for trumpet” and the Concertino for trumpet and orchestra by Mark Simpson (04/2019, Saffron Hall and 05/2021 Duisburger Philharmoniker) and “Fantasy for Trumpet” by Kaan Bulak (04/2019, London). In addition, he regularly plays pieces by Toshio Hosokawa, Christian Jost and Matthias Pintscher, giving the première of the latter’s double concerto for two trumpets with Reinhold Friedrich and the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra in 2012.

Simon Höfele is an equally enthusiastic performer of chamber music in a wide variety of combinations. His partners include the pianists Elisabeth Brauss and Frank Dupree and the percussionist Vivi Vassileva.

Simon Höfele received his first trumpet lessons at the age of seven in his native city of Darmstadt. Five years later, while still at school, he became a pupil of Reinhold Friedrich, who accepted him into his trumpet class at the Karlsruhe Musikhochschule as a 14-year-old. He was picked out for the best European talent development schemes, among things being chosen as a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist, nominated as an ECHO (European Concert Hall Organisation) “Rising Star” by the Cologne Philharmonie, the Konzerthaus in Dortmund and the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg and selected as an artist in the series “Junge Wilde” run by the Dortmund Konzerthaus. He now also teaches as a Visiting Artist at the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire and in various masterclasses.

Simon Höfele is signed to Berlin Classics as an exclusive artist. His album “Standards” with the trumpet concertos of Haydn, Hummel, Arutjunjan and Copland, which was recorded with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales conducted by Duncan Ward and released in early 2020, was acclaimed by music critics and awarded the OPUS KLASSIK 2020 prize as “concert recording of the year.” The album “New Standards”, featuring classic recital pieces by Hindemith, Honegger, Francaix and Enescu, among others, which was released in spring 2021, also met with the highest praise from reviewers and concert organisers.

Alongside his musical projects, Simon Höfele is also involved in cultural politics and founded the association “Kunstverlust”, for which he makes photographic portraits of people who work actively to preserve art and culture.

2021/22 Season
Please only use the most up-to-date biography. Any alterations must first be cleared with f r e i t a g a r t i s t s.

MENÜ nach oben

simon höfele
trompete generalmanagement

Biografie als PDF: DE EN

Der 27-jährige Simon Höfele ist Preisträger des wichtigsten deutschen Klassikpreises OPUS KLASSIK 2020 und hat sich in kurzer Zeit international als einer der erfolgreichsten Trompeter der jungen Generation etabliert. Als Solist spielte er bereits mit dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, BBC Symphony, BBC Philharmonic, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Shanghai Philharmonic, Berner Symphonieorchester, Musikkollegium Winterthur, Tonkünstler-Orchester, Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, SWR Symphonieorchester, MDR Sinfonieorchester, der NDR Radiophilharmonie, Deutschen Radio Philharmonie, den Stuttgarter Philharmonikern, der Staatskapelle Halle, dem Beethoven Orchester Bonn, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Münchener Kammerorchester, der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, dem Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne u.a.. In der Saison 2020/21 war er Artist in Residence der Duisburger Philharmoniker.

Mit Rezitalen war er bereits zu Gast in der Wigmore Hall London, Tonhalle Zürich, im Konzerthaus Wien, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, in der Gulbenkian Foundation Lisbon, im L’Auditori Barcelona, Müpa Budapest, in der Philharmonie Luxemburg, im Bozar Brüssel, in der Elbphilharmonie, im Konzerthaus Berlin, Prinzregententheater und Herkulessaal München, Konzerthaus Dortmund, beim Cheltenham Music Festival, Festival de Radio France et Montpellier Languedoc-Roussillon, MiTo Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival, Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival, bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, beim MDR Musiksommer und beim Grafenegg Festival.

Simon Höfele arbeitet(e) mit Dirigent*innen wie Ryan Bancroft, Joseph Bastian, Semyon Bychkov, Alpesh Chauhan, Jonathan Cohen, Dennis Russell Davies, Jan Willem de Vriend, Ben Gernon, Pietari Inkinen, Julia Jones, Vladimir Jurowski, Roland Kluttig, Joana Mallwitz, Andrew Manze, Matthias Pintscher, Clemens Schuldt, Steven Sloane, Markus Stenz, Valentin Uryupin, Mario Venzago, Lorenzo Viotti, Duncan Ward, Kahchun Wong und vielen anderen.

In der Saison 2021/22 ist Simon Höfele Artist in Residence des Brandenburgischen Staatsorchesters und dort mit vielfältigen Orchester- und Kammermusikprogrammen zu erleben. Solorezitale und Orchesterkonzerte führen ihn u.a. in die Berliner und die Kölner Philharmonie, Isarphilharmonie München, Philharmonie Luxemburg, ins Müpa Budapest sowie zur Sächsischen Staatskapelle Dresden, zur Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker, zu den Bochumer Symphonikern, zur Badischen Staatskapelle, zum Staatsorchester Rheinische Philharmonie, zum Philharmonischen Orchester Heidelberg, zum Münchener Kammerorchester, zum Tonkünstler-Orchester, zum Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra und zum Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra. Auch beim Musikfest Berlin, beim Grafenegg Festival, beim Heidelberger Frühling und bei den Niedersächsischen Musiktagen wird er vertreten sein.

Neben dem bekannten Trompetenrepertoire von Telemann über Tartini, Haydn, Hummel, Mozart bis zu Jolivet, Arutjunjan und Zimmermann widmet sich Simon Höfele mit großer Begeisterung der zeitgenössischen Musik und spielte die Uraufführungen der für ihn geschriebenen Werke “Milky Way” von Miroslav Srnka (UA 09/2019, Concertgebouw), “Three pieces for trumpet” sowie das Concertino for trumpet and orchestra von Mark Simpson (UA 04/2019, Saffron Hall bzw. 05/2021 Duisburger Philharmoniker) und “Fantasy for Trumpet” von Kaan Bulak (UA 04/2019, London). Zudem spielt er regelmäßig Werke von Toshio Hosokawa, Christian Jost und Matthias Pintscher, dessen Doppelkonzert für zwei Trompeten er 2012 zusammen mit Reinhold Friedrich und dem Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchester uraufführte.
Mit ebenso großer Begeisterung spielt Simon Höfele Kammermusik in verschiedensten Besetzungen. Zu seinen Partner*innen zählen unter anderem die Pianist*innen Elisabeth Brauß und Frank Dupree sowie die Percussionistin Vivi Vassileva.

Simon Höfele erhielt mit sieben Jahren seinen ersten Trompetenunterricht in seiner Heimat Darmstadt, fünf Jahre später wurde er Jungschüler von Reinhold Friedrich, der ihn als 14-Jährigen in seine Trompetenklasse an der Musikhochschule Karlsruhe aufnahm. Er wurde er für die besten europäischen Förderprogramme, u.a. als BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist, Rising Star der ECHO (European Concert Hall Organisation) nominiert von der Kölner Philharmonie, dem Konzerthaus Dortmund und der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg sowie Künstler in der Reihe „Junge Wilde“ des Konzerthaus Dortmund, ausgewählt. Mittlerweile unterrichtet er auch selbst, als “Visiting artist” des Royal Birmingham Conservatoire sowie bei verschiedenen Meisterkursen.

Simon Höfele ist Exklusivkünstler bei Berlin Classics, sein Anfang 2020 erschienenes Album “Standards” mit den Trompetenkonzerten von Haydn, Hummel, Arutjunjan und Copland, eingespielt mit dem BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra und dem BBC National Orchestra of Wales unter Leitung von Duncan Ward, wurde von der Presse hochgelobt und mit dem OPUS KLASSIK 2020 als “Konzerteinspielung des Jahres” geehrt. Und auch das im Frühjahr 2021 erschienene Album “New Standards” mit den Rezital-Klassikern u.a. von Hindemith, Honegger, Francaix und Enescu erhielt höchste Anerkennung von Fachpresse und Veranstaltern.

Simon Höfele engagiert sich neben seinen musikalischen Projekten auch kulturpolitisch und gründete den Verein „Kunstverlust“, für den er als Fotograf Menschen porträtiert, die sich aktiv für die Erhaltung von Kunst und Kultur einsetzen.

Saison 2021/22
Bitte verwenden Sie nur die aktuellste Biographie, Änderungen sind nur nach Absprache mit f r e i t a g a r t i s t s möglich.