MENUE to top

detlev glanert
composer general management

With his successful works for the stage, Detlev Glanert is one of the most-performed living opera composers in Germany today. His operatic, orchestral and chamber music is informed by a highly lyrical musical language and displays an affinity with the Romantic tradition, coloured by a contemporary perspective.

A highlight of the 2018/19 season is the première of the opera “Oceane” after Theodor Fontane at the Deutsche Oper Berlin under the baton of General Music Director Donald Runnicles and directed by Robert Carson. The Deutsche Oper Berlin is also playing works by Glanert in two concerts. At the Tanglewood Festival, Andris Nelsons and the soloist Thomas Rolfs, principal trumpet player in the Boston Symphony Orchestra, will première a trumpet concerto. Detlev Glanert’s orchestral work “Weites Land” (“Open Land”) will be performed more than 20 times during the season, including by the Leipzig Gewandhausorchester, the Berlin and Munich Philharmonics, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Cleveland Orchestra and the Czech Phliharmonic under Semyon Bychkov, the Brussels Philharmonic under Stephane Dénève and the Dresden Philharmonic under Michael Sanderling on a tour of South America. Glanert’s reconstruction and reconstruction of Giuseppe Becce’s music for Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau’s silent film classic “Der letzte Mann” (English title: “The Last Laugh”) will be given as an Austrian première in the Konzerthaus, Vienna, with the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra under Frank Strobel.

In recent seasons, Detlev Glanert’s works have been performed by orchestras such as the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra del Teatro Regio, the Orchestre National de France, the NDR Radiophilharmonie and the WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne. A highlight in 2017 was the German première of the “Requiem for Hieronymus Bosch” under Markus Stenz with the Symphoniker Hamburg in Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie.

Detlev Glanert’s instrumental oeuvre includes three symphonies, solo concertos for piano, piano duet, violin and tuba, and numerous pieces for orchestra and chamber-music ensembles. Glanert’s 10 music-theatre pieces have all been staged and performed many times and he has received several prizes for his operas, including the prestigious Rolf Liebermann Opera Prize in 1993 for his first full-length opera, “The Mirror of the Great Emperor,” and the Bavarian Theatre Prize in 2001 for the comic opera “Jest, Satire, Irony and Deeper Meaning,” his most successful stage work to date.

Conductors of his music have included Marin Alsop, Stefan Asbury, Martyn Brabbins, Semyon Bychkov, Stéphane Denève, Iván Fischer, Oliver Knussen, Sebastian Lang-Lessing, Jun Märkl, Andrew Manze, Kent Nagano, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, David Robertson, Donald Runnicles, Markus Stenz and Christian Thielemann.

Detlev Glanert was born in Hamburg in 1960. He learnt trumpet, tenorhorn, double bass and piano. From 1980 to 1982, he studied composition with Diether de la Motte in Hamburg, then going on to train with Hans Werner Henze in Cologne from 1985 to 1989. In the summer of 1986, he undertook further studies with Oliver Knussen in Tanglewood. For altogether 10 years, Detlev Glanert lived in Italy, where for five years he headed the “Istituto di Musica” and for three years the “Cantiere Internazionale d’Arte” in Montepulciano as their artistic director. In 1992/1993 he held a grant from the German art institute “Deutsche Akademie Rom Villa Massimo” in Rome. In 2003 he was composer-in-residence in Mannheim, and held the same position at the Pacific Music Festival in Sapporo in 2005. He has lectured and taught composition classes in Aspen, Genoa, Montepulciano, Melbourne, Jakarta and Sapporo, among other places. Detlev Glanert was “House Composer” of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam from 2011 to 2017.

Detlev Glanert lives in Berlin.

Season 2018/19
Please use only the latest biography. Changes may be made only after consultation with freitag artists.