MENUE to top

jonathon heyward
conductor germany I austria I switzerland

Jonathon Heyward is forging a career, as one the most exciting conductors of his generation.
Currently Assistant Conductor of The Hallé alongside Music Director Sir Mark Elder, the young American has also been selected to be part of the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra’s Dudamel Conducting Fellowship programme, commencing in July 2017. For his second tenure in the autumn 2017, Jonathon stepped in for Miguel Barth-Hadoya and made his debut with the orchestra for three major concerts at the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, with violinist Hilary Hahn.
2017/2018 promises to be a busy season. In addition to strengthening his work with both The Hallé Youth Orchestra (as its Artistic Director and main Conductor) and The Hallé, with which he will conduct his first subscription series concert with soloist Benjamin Grosvenor in March, Jonathon will also embark on a number of eclectic projects: five performances premiering Giorgio Battistelli’s new opera, Lazarus, for the Birmingham Opera Company with stage-Director Graham Vick, a tour of France with Orchestre de l’Opéra de Rouen, to include performances at the festivals in Besançon and La Chaise-Dieu, a series of concerts at the best halls across Belgium with the Symfonieorkest Vlaanderen, debuts with the Orchestre National de Bordeaux-Aquitaine, the Orchestre National des Pays de Loire, the Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie and the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne as well as a return invitation to Japan. In the USA, Jonathon has been invited to lead the orchestra of the Interlochen Summer Music programme in 2019 and will conduct the Spoleto festival’s production of Porgy and Bess in 2020.
In 2015, Jonathon won the 54th International Competition for Young Conductors in Besançon, taking the Grand Prize aged only 23, and has, since, conducted the St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra, Basel Symphony Orchestra, Prague Symphony Orchestra, Panda Wind Orchestra in Japan, the Philharmonie Zuidnederlandand, the Orchestre National de Lille, the Orchestre National de Lorraine, Chineke! Orchestra in the UK, and the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra for a production of Kurt Weill’s Lost in the Stars, as part of his Conducting Fellowship supported by the Kurt Weill Foundation.

Originally a cellist, Jonathon commenced his conducting studies at The Boston Conservatory in the class of Andrew Altenbach. He went on to occupy the position of Assistant Conductor for both their opera department and the Boston Opera Collaborative from 2012 to 2014, where he worked on productions including La Bohème, Zauberflöte and The Rape of Lucretia. In 2013 he became the youngest ever semi-finalist at the Blue Danube International Opera Conducting Competition and furthered his education with postgraduate studies with Sian Edwards at the Royal Academy of Music, London, from where he graduated in June 2016.

Season 2017/18

Not to be altered without permission. Our biographies are regularly updated, please discard previous versions.

MENÜ nach oben

jonathon heyward
dirigent deutschland I österreich I schweiz

Der junge amerikanische Dirigent Jonathon Heyward steht am Beginn einer vielversprechenden Karriere: er ist Assistant Conductor des Hallé Manchester an der Seite von Chefdirigent Sir Mark Elder und, seit Juli 2017, im Conducting Fellowship Programm von Gustavo Dudamel des Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra. Anfang Dezember 2017 sprang er dort für Miguel Harth-Bedoya ein und leitete drei Konzerte mit Hillary Hahn als Solistin, die von der Los Angeles Times als verheißungsvolles Debüt gelobt wurden.

In der Saison 2017/2018 dirigiert Jonathon Heyward sein erstes Abokonzert beim Hallé Manchester mit Benjamin Grosvenor als Solist, zudem intensiviert er sein Engagement als Künstlerischer Leiter und Chefdirigent des Hallé Youth Orchestra. Er geht mit dem Orchestre de l’Opéra de Rouen auf Tournee durch Frankreich, mit Konzerten bei den Festivals in Besançon und La Chaise-Dieu, ist mit dem Symfonieorkest Vlaanderen in verschiedenen Konzertorten Belgiens zu hören, gibt seine Debüts beim Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire, bei der Nordwestdeutschen Philharmonie und beim Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne und kehrt zu Konzerten nach Japan zurück. An der Birmingham Opera dirigiert er Giorgio Battistellis Oper Lazarus (Regie: Graham Vick); 2019 wird er das Orchester des Interlochen Summer Music Program und 2020 die Produktion von Porgy and Bess beim Spoleto Festival leiten.

Im Alter von 23 Jahren gewann Jonathon Heyward die 54. International Competition for Young Conductors in Besançon 2015. Es folgten Engagements beim St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra, Sinfonieorchester Basel, Prague Symphony Orchestra, Panda Wind Orchestra, bei der Philharmonie Zuidnederland, beim Orchestre National de Lille, Orchestre National de Lorraine sowie dem Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra in einer Produktion von Lost in the Stars von Kurt Weill im Rahmen der Conducting Fellowship der Kurt Weill Foundation.

Seine musikalische Karriere begann Jonathon Heyward als Cellist und studierte Dirigieren bei Andrew Altenbach am Boston Conservatory, in dessen Opernsparte er die Position als Assistant Conductor erhielt. Dieselbe Position hatte er beim Boston Opera Collaborative von 2012 bis 2014 inne und führte dort anderem La Bohème, die Zauberflöte und The Rape of Lucretia auf. 2013 war er der jüngste Halbfinalist bei der Blue Danube International Opera Conducting Competition. Seine Ausbildung führte er mit einen Graduierten-Studium an der Royal Academy of Music in London fort, die er im Juni 2016 mit Erfolg abschloss.

Saison 2017/18

Bitte verwenden Sie nur die aktuellste Biographie, Änderungen sind nur nach Absprache mit
f r e i t a g a r t i s t s möglich.