MENUE to top

roland kluttig
conductor general management

06rklutig

In the 2015/16 season, Roland Kluttig (b. 1968) was musical director of the critically acclaimed new production of Richard Strauss’s “Salome” at the Stuttgart Opera. “Seldom has such a compelling performance been heard,” was the opinion of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung. “The colourful sounds emanating from the orchestra pit, which remain transparent despite all their intensity, are fantastic“, wrote the Stuttgarter Nachrichten.

Kluttig is a welcome guest both in the opera house and the concert hall, and well-known for his broad repertoire ranging from early music and pieces from the Classical and Romantic eras to contemporary works. He is regularly invited for concert projects by orchestras including the top German radio orchestras in Frankfurt, Munich and Stuttgart/Freiburg, the Philharmonia Orchestra, London, the Seoul Philharmonic, the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg and the Konzerthausorchester Berlin. His activities as an operatic conductor have taken him to the Swedish opera company Norrlandsoperan with Benjamin Britten’s “Peter Grimes” and Alban Berg’s “Wozzeck”, as well as to opera houses in Leipzig, Frankfurt, Mannheim, Nice and Stuttgart.

Since the 2010/11 season, Roland Kluttig has been general music director at the Landestheater Coburg. There, he has proven his skill in a wide range of operatic fields with productions of Handel and Gluck, Mozart and Verdi, Janáček and Debussy. A characteristic highlight of his work in Coburg has been the combination of Richard Wagner and Salvatore Sciarrino’s versions of “Lohengrin”, which has received a great deal of attention from the national press. In Coburg, he has also initiated two innovative music-education formats: “Concertino” and “Compose”.

From 2000-2004, the Dresden-trained conductor was Kapellmeister and musical assistant at the Stuttgart Opera. During this time, he directed the first-ever live recording of Arnold Schoenberg’s “Moses und Aron” (Naxos). Kluttig also recorded the concertos by Erwin Schulhoff for the label Cappriccio with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin. In addition, for Neos, he made a portrait CD of the Mexican composer Silvestre Revueltas, whom he much admires, with the Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin (KNM), a group with which he was closely associated in the 90s as its musical director.

In the 2016/17 season, Roland Kluttig will direct new productions of Beethoven’s “Fidelio”, Janáček’s “The Cunning Little Vixen” and Wagner’s “Parsifal” in Coburg. He will also be returning to the Stuttgart Opera for performances of Mozart’s “Così fan tutte”, and direct Beethoven’s monumental “Missa Solemnis” with the Czech Philharmonic Choir and the Prague Philharmonia.

Season 2016/17
Please use only the latest biography. Changes may be made only after consultation with freitag artists.

MENÜ nach oben

roland kluttig
dirigent generalmanagement

06rklutig

Roland Kluttig (geb. 1968) hatte in der Saison 2015/16 an der Stuttgarter Staatsoper die Musikalische Leitung der von der Presse gefeierten Neuproduktion von Richard Strauss „Salome“ inne. „Selten hat man eine so stringente Aufführung gehört“ urteilte die FAZ. „Es ist fantastisch, was da farbig und bei aller Klangmacht immer transparent aus dem Graben klingt“, so die Stuttgarter Nachrichten.

Kluttig ist sowohl im Opern- als auch im Konzertbereich ein gern gesehener Gast und für sein breites Repertoire von Alter Musik über Klassik und Romantik bis zu zeitgenössischer Musik bekannt. Er wird regelmäßig von den großen deutschen Rundfunkorchestern in Frankfurt, München, Stuttgart/Freiburg, dem Philharmonia Orchestra London, Seoul Philharmonic, dem Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin u.a. für Konzertprojekte eingeladen. Operndirigate führten ihn an die schwedische Norrlandsopera mit Benjamin Brittens „Peter Grimes“ und Alban Bergs „Wozzeck“ sowie an die Häuser in Leipzig, Frankfurt, Mannheim, Nizza und Stuttgart.

Seit der Saison 2010/11 ist Roland Kluttig Generalmusikdirektor am Landestheater Coburg und hat dort mit Produktionen von Händel und Gluck, Mozart und Verdi, Janáček und Debussy sein Können in den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen des Opernrepertoires bewiesen. Bezeichnend für seine Coburger Arbeit ist insbesondere die in der überregionalen Presse gewürdigte Kombination des „Lohengrin“ in den Versionen von Richard Wagner und Salvatore Sciarrino. Ferner hat er in Coburg mit „Concertino“ und „Compose“ zwei innovative Formate der Musikvermittlung ins Leben gerufen.

Von 2000-2004 war der in Dresden ausgebildete Dirigent Kapellmeister und Musikalischer Assistent an der Stuttgarter Staatsoper. In dieser Zeit entstand unter seiner Leitung die erste Live-Aufnahme von Arnold Schönbergs „Moses und Aron“ (Naxos). Kluttig spielte ferner die Concertos von Erwin Schulhoff gemeinsam mit dem DSO Berlin für Cappriccio und eine Porträt CD des von ihm besonders geschätzten mexikanischen Komponisten Silvestre Revueltas mit dem Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, dem er in den 90er Jahren als Musikalischer Leiter eng verbunden war, für Neos ein.

In der Saison 2016/17 wird Roland Kluttig in Coburg Neuproduktionen von Beethovens „Fidelio“, Janáčeks „Das schlaue Füchslein“ und Wagners „Parsifal“ leiten, an die Stuttgarter Oper mit Aufführungen von Mozarts „Così fan tutte“ zurückkehren und mit dem Tschechischen Philharmonischen Chor und der Prague Philharmonia Beethovens gewaltige „Missa Solemnis“ erarbeiten.

Saison 2016/17
Bitte verwenden Sie nur die aktuellste Biographie, Änderungen sind nur nach Absprache mit f r e i t a g a r t i s t s möglich.