MENUE to top

nils mönkemeyer
viola general management

Biography as PDF: DE EN

Artistic brilliance and innovative programming are the trademarks with which Nils Mönkemeyer has rapidly made his name as one of the most internationally successful violists, and dramatically raised the profile of his instrument.

As an exclusive Sony Classical artist, he has brought out several critically acclaimed, award-winning CDs in the last years, all of which have made their way into the German classical charts. The programmes of this and Mönkemeyer’s previous recordings encompass discoveries and first recordings of original viola literature ranging from the 18th century to modern pieces, as well as his own transcriptions. 2017 will mark the release of the newest recording with works by Walton, Bruch and Pärt and the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Markus Poschner.

Nils Mönkemeyer has collaborated with such conductors as Sylvain Cambreling, Elias Grandy, Christopher Hogwood, Cornelius Meister, Mark Minkowski, Michael Sanderling, Clemens Schuldt, Karl-Heinz Steffens, Markus Stenz, Mario Venzago and Simone Young, including orchestras like the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, Helsinki Philharmonic, Musiciens du Louvre, Berne Symphony Orchestra, Konzerthaus Orchestra Berlin, Staatskapelle Weimar, Bremen and Hamburg Philharmonic, Dusseldorf Symphony Orchestra, MDR and NDR Radio Orchestras and the Berlin Baroque Soloists.

In the season 2017/18 he will appear as soloist at major international concert venues like the Musikverein Vienna, Salzburg, Helsinki Music Center, Liechtenstein, at the Philharmonie Berlin and Cologne, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Gasteig in Munich and the Alte Oper Frankfurt.

With his regular chamber music projects like the trio with Sabine Meyer and William Youn, the Julia Fischer Quartet and the duo with pianist William Youn, he will be heard on stages like the Wigmore Hall London, National Concert Hall Taipeh, Liszt Hall Budapest, Tonhalle Zurich, Philharmonie Luxembourg, Muziekgebouw Amsterdam, Gewandhaus Leipzig, Prinzregententheater Munich, Boulez Hall Berlin and at numerous festivals.

Since 2011 Nils Mönkemeyer is a professor at the University for Music and Performing Arts in Munich, where he used to study himself with Hariolf Schlichtig. Previously, he was a professor at the University of Music in Dresden and assistant professor at the Escuela Superior Musica Reina Sofia Madrid.

Nils Mönkemeyer plays a viola made in the workshop of Munich luthier Peter Erben.

Season 2017/18
Please use only the latest biography. Changes may be made only after consultation with freitag artists.

MENÜ nach oben

nils mönkemeyer
viola generalmanagement

Biografie als PDF: DE EN

Künstlerische Brillanz und innovative Programmgestaltung sind das Markenzeichen, mit dem Nils Mönkemeyer sich in kurzer Zeit als einer der international erfolgreichsten Bratschisten profiliert und der Bratsche zu enormer Aufmerksamkeit verholfen hat.

Als Exklusiv-Künstler bei Sony Classical brachte er in den letzten Jahren zahlreiche CDs heraus, die alle von der Presse hoch gelobt und mit Preisen ausgezeichnet wurden. In seinen Programmen spannt Mönkemeyer den Bogen von Entdeckungen und Ersteinspielungen originärer Bratschenliteratur des 18. Jahrhunderts bis hin zur Moderne und zu Eigenbearbeitungen. Im Sommer 2017 erschien Nils Mönkemeyers jüngste CD mit den Bamberger Symphonikern unter Leitung von Markus Poschner und Werken von Walton, Bruch und Pärt.

Nils Mönkemeyer arbeitet mit Dirigenten wie Sylvain Cambreling, Elias Grandy, Christopher Hogwood, Cornelius Meister, Mark Minkowski, Michael Sanderling, Clemens Schuldt, Karl-Heinz Steffens, Markus Stenz, Mario Venzago oder Simone Young zusammen und konzertiert als Solist mit Orchestern wie dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, dem Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, den Musiciens du Louvre, dem Berner Symphonieorchester, dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin, dem Philharmonischen Staatsorchester Hamburg, dem MDR Sinfonieorchester, der NDR Radiophilharmonie, der Staatskapelle Weimar, den Bremer Philharmonikern, den Düsseldorfer Symphonikern oder den Berliner Barocksolisten.

In der Saison 17/18 ist er als Solist u.a. im Wiener Musikverein, in Salzburg, im Music Center Helsinki, in Liechtenstein, in der Philharmonie Berlin, im Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, im Münchner Gasteig, in der Kölner Philharmonie und in der Alten Oper Frankfurt zu hören. Mit seinen kammermusikalischen Projekten – zu denen u.a. das Trio mit Sabine Meyer und William Youn, das Julia Fischer Quartett und sein Duo mit William Youn gehört – ist er zu Gast auf internationalen Podien wie der Londoner Wigmore Hall, der National Concerthall Taipeh, der Liszt Hall Budapest, der Tonhalle Zürich, der Philharmonie Luxemburg, dem Amsterdamer Muziekgebouw, dem Gewandhaus Leipzig, dem Münchner Prinzregententheater, dem Boulezsaal Berlin, sowie bei zahlreichen Festivals.

Seit 2011 ist Mönkemeyer Professor an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München, an der er selbst einmal bei Hariolf Schlichtig studiert hatte. Vorherige Stationen waren eine zweijährige Professur an der Hochschule für Musik Carl Maria von Weber in Dresden und eine Assistenzprofessur an der Escuela Superior Musica Reina Sofia Madrid.

Saison 2017/18
Bitte verwenden Sie nur die aktuellste Biographie, Änderungen sind nur nach Absprache mit f r e i t a g a r t i s t s möglich.