MENUE to top

mario venzago
conductor general management

Biography as PDF: DE EN

Mario Venzago is the principal conductor and artistic director of the Bern Symphony Orchestra since 2010 and Artist in Association at Finland’s Tapiola Sinfonietta since 2007.

Before, he was principal conductor or general music director of the following orchestras: Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Basque National Orchestra in San Sebastian, Basel Symphony Orchestra, Graz Opera und Graz Philharmonic Orchestra, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Frankfurt (now Bremen), Theatre and Philharmonic Orchestra of the City of Heidelberg and Musikkollegium Winterthur. From 2010 to 2014 he was principal conductor of the Royal Northern Sinfonia and from 2000 to 2003 Artistic Director of the Baltimore Summer Fest, as successor to Pinchas Zukermann and David Zinman.

Mario Venzago has conducted the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the orchestras in Philadelphia and Boston, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, the Filarmonica della Scala and the NHK Symphony Orchestra. He is a regular guest conductor with internationally renowned orchestras such as the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, the Seoul Philharmonic, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London, the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Danish National Symphony Orchestra, the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra, the Konzerthausorchester Berlin and the Frankfurter Museumsorchester.

Mario Venzago has given concerts with the world’s most famous soloists, and worked together with directors such as Ruth Berghaus, Peter Konwitschny and Hans Neuenfels.

Several of his CDs have won international prizes such as the Grand Prix du Disque, the Diapason d’or and the Edison Award. His recordings of the operas “Venus” and “Penthesilea” and of all choral works by Othmar Schoeck with the MDR choir and symphony orchestra received great international recognition and prestigious awards, as did his first film, “My Brother the Conductor” by Alberto Venzago, which was shown in cinemas across Europe and brought out on DVD. In the spring of 2015, the collaboration between Mario Venzago and the label CPO on the project “The Other Bruckner,” with all ten Bruckner symphonies, was completed. The individual releases, acclaimed by international critics, are available from CPO (www.jpc.de), as are the complete CD box and a documentary film.
A complete recording of the serenades and symphonies by Johannes Brahms will soon be released.
Further, the recording of Franz Schubert’s „Unfinished“ symphony with the Kammerorchester Basel, completed and conducted by Mario Venzago (Sony), currently causes a stir.

Season 2017/18

Please use only the latest biography. Changes may only be made after consultation with freitag artists.

MENÜ nach oben

mario venzago
dirigent generalmanagement

Biografie als PDF: DE EN

Mario Venzago ist seit 2010 Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Berner Symphonieorchesters und seit 2007 Artist in Association bei der finnischen Tapiola Sinfonietta.

Weitere Stationen Mario Venzagos als Chefdirigent bzw. Generalmusikdirektor waren: Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, Göteborgs Symfoniker, Baskisches Nationalorchester San Sebastian, Sinfonieorchester Basel, Grazer Oper und Grazer Philharmonisches Orchester, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Frankfurt (heute Bremen), Theater und Philharmonisches Orchester der Stadt Heidelberg sowie Musikkollegium Winterthur. Von 2010 bis 2014 war er Principal Conductor der Royal Northern Sinfonia und von 2000 bis 2003 Künstlerischer Leiter des Baltimore Music Summer Fest, als Nachfolger von Pinchas Zukerman und David Zinman.

Mario Venzago dirigierte u.a. die Berliner Philharmoniker, das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, die Orchester von Philadelphia und Boston, das London Philharmonic Orchestra, das Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, die Filarmonica della Scala und das NHK Symphony Orchestra. Er ist regelmäßiger Gast international renommierter Orchester wie Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Seoul Philharmonic, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London, Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Göteborgs Symfoniker, Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest, St. Petersburger Philharmoniker, Konzerthausorchester Berlin und Frankfurter Museumsorchester.

Mario Venzago konzertierte mit den berühmtesten Solisten der Welt, und Regisseure wie Ruth Berghaus, Peter Konwitschny oder Hans Neuenfels arbeiteten an seiner Seite.

Mehrere seiner CDs wurden mit internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet, wie dem Grand Prix du Disque, dem Diapason d´or und dem Prix Edison. Die Einspielungen der Opern „Venus“ und „Penthesilea“ sowie die Aufnahme aller Chorwerke von Othmar Schoeck mit dem MDR Chor und Sinfonieorchester fanden große internationale Anerkennung und erhielten höchste Auszeichnungen, so auch sein erster Kinofilm „Mein Bruder der Dirigent“ von Alberto Venzago, der europaweit in den Kinos lief und auf DVD erschien. Im Frühjahr 2015 wurde die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Mario Venzago und dem Label CPO für das Projekt „Der andere Bruckner“ mit der Gesamtaufnahme aller zehn Bruckner Sinfonien abgeschlossen. Die von der internationalen Kritik hoch gelobten Einzelveröffentlichungen als auch die gesamte CD-Box und ein Dokumentarfilm sind bei CPO (www.jpc.de) erhältlich. Demnächst erscheint eine Gesamtaufnahme der Serenaden und Sinfonien von Johannes Brahms. Für Aufsehen sorgt zur Zeit Venzagos Einspielung der von ihm vollendeten „Unvollendeten“ von Franz Schubert mit dem Kammerorchester Basel (Sony).

Saison 2017/18

Bitte verwenden Sie nur die aktuellste Biographie, Änderungen sind nur nach Absprache mit
f r e i t a g a r t i s t s möglich.